Cake for vegans is easy | Vegan Heath

When I became vegan, cakes were rare. Back then it was a case of waiting for Kate’s mum’s chocolate cake.  Well eggs are essential for a cake. Err, no, but that was the general perception. Now there’s lots of recipes and Ms Cupcake! I try to make the few cakes I make a little more health conscious so I avoid regular sugar and wheat. And I tend to put less sweetener than the recipe suggests. Cakes are all the better for it I find.

I avoid wheat most of the time because of the bloating and sugar is simply bereft of and nutritional value. Quinoa is a superfood and coconut sugar still retains some nutritional value, I believe. This time I used the coconut sugar with tamarind from Coconom. It’s a little different but works great.

Leave a Reply

